Granberg Honored at Bragan Gala

1101 BBYFGranberg 2The second recipient of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award was honored on Thursday night, Nov. 1 at the annual Bobby Bragan Gala at the Fort Worth Club.

Devlin Granberg, who won the award in his senior season with Dallas Baptist, received the trophy from Tracy Taylor, executive director of the Bragan Slugger Award and Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation.

Click here to read the Star-Telegram’s coverage of the gala and here to watch a segment on NBC 5

Granberg was drafted by the World Series champion Boston Red Sox in the June MLB draft.

The Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award was established in 2017.

Dallas Baptist’s Devlin Granberg Wins Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award

granbergThe Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced today that Dallas Baptist outfielder Devlin Granberg has won the 2018 award.  Granberg will be honored at a gala on Nov. 1 at the Fort Worth Club.

When his season ended last week, Granberg, a senior from Hudson, Colorado, ranked in the top 10 nationally in six categories, including No. 1 in hits (112), No. 2 in batting average (.443), No. 3 in on-base percentage (.541), No. 5 in runs scored (72) and OPS (1.221), and No. 10 in RBI (70).  Along with being named the Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year, Granberg led DBU into the NCAA Tournament where he was named the Most Outstanding Player in the Fayetteville Regional after hitting .667 (12-for-18).  In the classroom, Granberg boasts a 4.0 GPA as a Kinesiology major.

“We could not be more excited in the Selection Committee’s choice of senior Devlin Granberg of Dallas Baptist University as the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award winner for 2018,” said BBCSA executive director Tracy Taylor.  “This is a young man who led his team and league in most hitting categories. Even more important, Devlin was the Academic All-America Player of the Year and posted a 4.0 GPA in Kinesiology during his time at DBU.  As impressive as this season and his academic performance is, Devlin is an even better person and a great representative of the criteria of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award.”

Continue reading

Clemens, Granberg, Jung Named 2018 Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Finalists

bbyf0926170071The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has announced the finalists for the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award for the 2018 season.

“We are extremely excited to name these outstanding young men as finalists,” said Tracy Taylor, Executive Director of the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation and Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award.  “Each of these student-athletes had a great year at the plate and are even better representatives of their programs and schools.”

Kody Clemens, Jr. – University of Texas. Kody was named the Big 12 Player Of The Year while leading the league in homers (19, 7th nationally), total bases and slugging percentage. UT will host an NCAA Regional this weekend. Kody is a Communications major who is described as “a fierce competitor who takes pride in his leadership both on and off the field”.

Devlin Granberg, Sr – Dallas Baptist University. Devlin was named the Missouri Valley Conference Hitter of the year after leading the league in virtually every offensive category. His .426 average led the MVC and ranked him third nationally. Delvin will lead the Patriots into the Arkansas Regional in Fayetteville. Devlin is a Kinesiology major who carries a 4.0 GPA.

Josh Jung, Soph.
– Texas Tech University. Josh led the Big 12 in batting average (.381), runs (63) and RBI (73, 5th nationally). He was a first team, All-Big 12 performer following a freshman of the year campaign in 2017. Tech will host an NCAA Regional. Josh is a Communications major who was on the Dean’s List in the fall.
Continue reading

Nine Added To 2018 Slugger Award Watch List

Photo by Bob Haynes

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award (BBCSA) announced today that nine players have been added to its watch list for the 2018 college baseball season.  The nine mid-season additions now gives the watch list a total of 34 players.  There were 25 players on the watch list to open the 2018 season. The BBCSA is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity and was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas.

The new additions to the watch list include Incarnate Word’s Kyle Bergeron (.352 batting average), Texas Southern’s Kamren Dukes (.411), Incarnate Word’s Eddy Gonzalez (.389), Sam Houston State’s Clayton Harp (.346), Texas A&M’s Michael Helman (.395), Texas Tech’s Grant Little (.404), Incarnate Word’s Ridge Rogers (.358), Abilene Christian’s Derek Scott (.297) and Houston’s Jared Triolo (.364).

Continue reading

2018 Bobby Bragan Slugger Award Watch List Announced

Photo by Bob Haynes

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award (BBCSA) has announced the players on its “Watch List” for the 2018 college baseball season.  The award, created by the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation, was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas.  There are 25 players from 18 programs on the “Watch List” this season.  The BBCSA is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity.

Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove was the winner of the inaugural BBCSA last season.  Hargrove was the Co-Player of the Year in the Big 12 Conference in 2017.  He was selected in the 25th round of the 2017 Major League Baseball Draft by the Oakland Athletics organization.

Continue reading

Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Prepares For Second Season

Watch List AnnouncementFollowing a successful and competitive first year, the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award is getting set to release the watch list for its second season.

Hunter Hargrove of Texas Tech was the award’s inaugural winner in 2017. Hargrove will serve on this year’s selection committee.

The Slugger Award honors the Texas Division I slugger who excels on the field, in the dugout and in the classroom.

Check back on this website Feb. 12 for the announcement of the watch list for 2018 and don’t forget to follow the Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award on Facebook and Twitter for the latest updates straight to your timeline.