2018 Bobby Bragan Slugger Award Watch List Announced

Photo by Bob Haynes

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award (BBCSA) has announced the players on its “Watch List” for the 2018 college baseball season.  The award, created by the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation, was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas.  There are 25 players from 18 programs on the “Watch List” this season.  The BBCSA is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity.

Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove was the winner of the inaugural BBCSA last season.  Hargrove was the Co-Player of the Year in the Big 12 Conference in 2017.  He was selected in the 25th round of the 2017 Major League Baseball Draft by the Oakland Athletics organization.

Continue reading

Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Prepares For Second Season

Watch List AnnouncementFollowing a successful and competitive first year, the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award is getting set to release the watch list for its second season.

Hunter Hargrove of Texas Tech was the award’s inaugural winner in 2017. Hargrove will serve on this year’s selection committee.

The Slugger Award honors the Texas Division I slugger who excels on the field, in the dugout and in the classroom.

Check back on this website Feb. 12 for the announcement of the watch list for 2018 and don’t forget to follow the Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award on Facebook and Twitter for the latest updates straight to your timeline.

Fort Worth Proclaims Monday ‘Bobby Bragan Day’

bragan-piano1Monday, Oct. 30 would have been Bobby Bragan’s 100th birthday and the City of Fort Worth proclaimed it “Bobby Bragan Day.” 

Click here to view the official proclamation from Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price.

Bobby, who passed away at age 92 in 2010, was born in Birmingham, Alabama on Oct. 30, 1917.  He was known as “Mr. Baseball” in Fort Worth due to his long baseball career, as well as the fact that he was the player/manager of the Fort Worth Cats from 1948-1952.  Bragan played for the Brooklyn Dodgers and would go on to manage in the majors for the Pirates, Indians and Braves.  He managed a number of great baseball players including Hall of Famers Roberto Clemente, Bill Mazeroski, Hank Aaron, Eddie Mathews and Warren Spahn just to name a few.

His legacy continues through the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation which has supported youth scholarships across the Metroplex for 26 years and the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award, which is presented to the Texas Division I college baseball player who performs best at the plate and in the classroom.

Bragan Foundation Honors Slugger Award Winner Hunter Hargrove

Michael Goodrich, Hunter Hargrove, Andrew Robinson (photo by Bob Haynes)

The inaugural Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award winner, Hunter Hargrove of Texas Tech, was honored at the 2017 Bobby Bragan Awards Gala Sept. 26th at The Fort Worth Club.

Hargrove was interviewed from the stage by former big league pitcher and broadcaster Steve Busby.

Click here to read the Fort Worth Business Press‘ coverage of the gala.

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation’s largest annual fundraiser, the gala has honored some of the biggest names in sports and philanthropy since it started in the early 1990s.



TCU’s Jim Schlossnagle on his friendship with Bobby Bragan

TCU head baseball coach Jim Schlossnagle says one of the first people he visited when he came to Fort Worth was Bobby Bragan.

“We developed a really good friendship. I wish I would have saved some of the voicemails he left me on my office phone or cell phone,” said Schlossnagle. “He was always so encouraging and so positive and checking in on my family…so I miss him everyday.”

Schlossnagle spoke about Bobby earlier this year at the watch list party for the inaugural Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award.

Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove Wins Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award

hargrove(June 15, 2017) The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced today that Texas Tech infielder Hunter Hargrove has won the 2017 award.  Hargrove will be honored at a gala on Sept. 26 at the Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth.

Hargrove, a senior from Mansfield Texas, was the Co-Player of the Year in the Big 12 Conference. He led the league in doubles as well as total bases during the regular season. Hargrove led the Red Raiders with a .343 batting average this season. He also held the team’s top marks in hits (84), doubles (26) and runs (56), while driving in 51 RBIs. Hargrove helped lead Texas Tech to its second straight Big 12 title. He is also a two-time Academic All-Big 12 honoree who will graduate in December with a degree in Media Strategies from the College of Media & Communication.

“This means everything to me,” said Hargrove.  “It’s great to be recognized for what I did on and off the field.  A lot of the credit goes to my teammates and coaches.  We had a really solid team this year that included a few seniors mixed in with some very talented younger players.  I was lucky enough to put up some really good numbers this year and a lot of that was the fact my teammates were getting on base in front of me.  I was fortunate enough to play every day. I gave it everything I had this season.  It’s a blessing to win the Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award.”
Continue reading

Slugger Award Semifinalists Lead Teams Into Postseason Play

The four semifinalists for the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award are all playing in the NCAA Tournament this weekend as their respective teams made the post-season.

  • Rice catcher Dominic DiCaprio and his teammates are playing in the Baton Rouge Regional.
  • Texas Tech infielder/outfielder Hunter Hargrove and the Red Raiders are playing in the Lubbock Regional.
  • Houston infielder Jake Scheiner and Texas A&M infielder Braden Shewmake are playing in the Houston Regional

Texas Tech (43-15) goes into the tournament as the No. 5 overall seed and is ranked 3rd in the latest Baseball America Top 25 poll.

The University of Houston (40-19) is ranked 16th in the Baseball America Top 25 poll.