Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Adds 18 Players to Midseason Watch List

bbyf0926170071The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award (BBCSA) announced today that 18 players have been added to the midseason Watch List for the 2019 award.  The BBCSA, created by the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation, was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico and Oklahoma.  The award is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity.

The 18 additions are University of Texas-Arlington’s Connor Aube, New Mexico State’s Tristen Carranza, Sam Houston State’s Colton Cowser, TCU’s Jake Guenther, Tulane’s Kody Hoese, New Orleans’ Gaige Howard, Baylor’s Nick Loftin, New Mexico’s Jared Mang, Texas Tech’s Dylan Neuse, New Mexico State’s Joey Ortiz, New Mexico State’s Tristan Peterson, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s Enrique Sanchez Jr., LSU’s Josh Smith, Louisiana-Monroe’s Trent Tingelstad, Abilene Christian’s Luis Trevino, Texas Tech’s Cameron Warren, LSU’s Zach Watson and Baylor’s Davis Wendzel.

“We have been blown away by the acceptance and partnership of the D1 baseball programs in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas,” said Tracy Taylor, Executive Director, Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award and Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation.   “The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Watch List now includes 48 players from 29 programs across these states.  These are some of the best hitters in the country and they lead the nation in many offensive categories including batting average, hits, RBIs, and runs scored.  On top of that, they are true student-athletes with several on the Watch List already having earned their degree and many having garnered Academic All-America and Academic All-Conference honors.  It is truly a tribute to Bobby Bragan’s legacy that these type of young men are part of an award bearing his name.”

The BBCSA originally had 30 players nominated for the award at the beginning of the season.  The BBCSA will name the finalists for this year’s award in May.  The winner of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award will be announced in June and honored at a gala in the fall.

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award is presented by SR Bats.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s