Nine Added To 2018 Slugger Award Watch List

Photo by Bob Haynes

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award (BBCSA) announced today that nine players have been added to its watch list for the 2018 college baseball season.  The nine mid-season additions now gives the watch list a total of 34 players.  There were 25 players on the watch list to open the 2018 season. The BBCSA is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity and was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas.

The new additions to the watch list include Incarnate Word’s Kyle Bergeron (.352 batting average), Texas Southern’s Kamren Dukes (.411), Incarnate Word’s Eddy Gonzalez (.389), Sam Houston State’s Clayton Harp (.346), Texas A&M’s Michael Helman (.395), Texas Tech’s Grant Little (.404), Incarnate Word’s Ridge Rogers (.358), Abilene Christian’s Derek Scott (.297) and Houston’s Jared Triolo (.364).

The BBCSA will announce semifinalists for the award in May.  The winner of the second annual Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award will be announced in June and honored at a gala in the fall.

Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove was the winner of the inaugural BBCSA last season.  Hargrove was the Co-Player of the Year in the Big 12 Conference in 2017.  He was selected in the 25th round of the 2017 Major League Baseball Draft by the Oakland Athletics organization.

For more information, contact Tracy Taylor, the executive director for the BBCSA, at 972-978-5309.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s