Advisory and Selection Committees Announced

The award’s namesake, Bobby Bragan

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced its advisory and selection committees today, setting up the foundation for the launch of its inaugural season in 2017. The award is open to nominations from all 21 Division I baseball programs in the state of Texas.

“We are very pleased with the groups we have been able to assemble to participate in our first season.  It is a testament to Bobby Bragan and his foundation that such quality people have agreed to join this effort,” noted Selection Committee Chairman Chris Lewis.

There are eight members of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Advisory Committee including many familiar names from the worlds of baseball and media:

  • Dr. Bobby Brown – Former New York Yankee, president of the American League and renowned cardiologist.
  • Maury Wills – Former Dodger great, five-time All-Star and 1962 NL MVP
  • Eddie Robinson – Four-time All-Star, last living Cleveland Indian World Series winner and a baseball player and front office executive from the 1940s through the 1980s.

The Advisory Committee is rounded out by former TCU Athletic Director and Baseball Coach Frank Windegger, media legend Randy Galloway,  Texas Rangers greats Tom Grieve and Chuck Morgan and John Dittrich, former Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation president and veteran of over 40 years in professional baseball.

The Selection Committee consists of 15 members and includes several members of the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation Board, former professional and college baseball players and former college coaches, members of the media and a current U.S. Congressman.  The committee is highlighted by Dr. Mike Gustafson, Lance Brown and U.S. Representative Roger Williams.  Mike is the president of the College Baseball Hall of Fame and a former college baseball player.  Lance and Roger are former college and pro baseball players who later coached at the collegiate level.  Roger continues involvement in coaching baseball as the leader of the Republican Congressional team.  The Selection Committee is rounded out by Chris Lewis, J. Searcy, Michael Peck, Andrew Robinson, Dick Stinson, Frank Carroll, Kirk Bohls, Quan Cosby, Sam Carpenter, David Barron, Larry Brogdon and Jared Shope.

Star Telegram: Committees Chosen For Inaugural Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award

For over 25 years the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has had two elements at its core, a passion for baseball and providing kids with the incentive and opportunity to pursue a college education.  From Bobby Bragan’s 60-year involvement with professional baseball to the foundation’s signature scholarship program, The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has embraced these connections and sought to make an impact on the DFW Metroplex.  The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award is the combination of these two areas that will drive the foundation for the future.

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award is based on the time tested and proven tenets of the foundation’s scholarship program that takes into account not only athletic performance, but academics and integrity/community service as well.  To date, the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has awarded over 730 scholarships worth more than $1.8 million, not to high school seniors, but to middle school 8th graders covering 144 middle schools in 22 independent school districts in Dallas/Ft. Worth.  The Foundation has documented that 98% of the 8th graders receiving the promise of a scholarship have enrolled in college, many as the first in their family to do so.

The reaction from the Division I College Baseball programs in Texas has been very positive and a Blue Ribbon Selection Committee has been assembled to help develop a watch list of players and ultimately choose the 2017 winner.  Players will be nominated by their respective programs and will be monitored by the Selection Committee throughout the season.  Several events, including a “Watch List Announcement” on February 22nd and a Gala in the fall of 2017 honoring the winner, are currently under development.

For more information contact Tracy Taylor,  (972) 978-5309

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s